About Us - Rubys on the Road
About Us

About Us

Raymond

I’m a husband and dad, but I also go by Ray. We live in Portland, in a cool little house (not a tiny house) just minutes from downtown. We are a couple professionals who like to work and play. We are proud bulldog owners and rookie parents to baby Weezie.

I grew up in Connecticut and vacationed in Maine for a week every summer. I was lucky to venture into the Maine woods a few times, but full disclosure, most of our trips were to Old Orchard Beach. My extended family are campground people, so almost all of my childhood summer days were filled with cousins, bikes, fishing, fires, swimming and all the other joys of camping, but with the convenience of an RV.

I wasn’t exposed to the true wilderness until my 20s. Canoeing down the Allagash River for the first time changed me. The thought of carrying everything in and out, with no cell service, became addicting. Since then I’ve jumped in head first and I’ve been blessed to explore all the corners of this state and lots in between. I venture out alone a lot, but it’s extra special with the entire Ruby crew…life is better shared.

Favorites:
Maine Beer: Shipyard Export
Maine Trail: Cutler Preserve
Maine location: Allagash Wilderness Waterway
Maine Mountain: Bigelow
Quote: “If you can’t carry it on your back or in your heart, you probably don’t need it.”

Danielle

I’m a proud mom and wife, a software testing professional, a lover of Maine and its beauty, and those close to me call me Din. I’m a true Mainer at heart. I grew up in a small Maine town, one of the four corners of the United States on the Canadian border, called Madawaska. I spent majority of my childhood outside. From a very young age my parents brought my brother and I hunting, fishing, camping, snowmobiling and skiing. There are photos of me learning how to potty in the middle of the woods. We spent many weekends at our beautiful camp in the Allagash or canoeing down the Allagash Wilderness Waterway. Every summer my family would travel eight hours to southern Maine and setup our bulky eight-man tent for a week long stay at Bailey’s Campground in Scarborough. This is where my love for southern Maine was born. I love living in Portland. We can be downtown sailing around the bay, eating a lobster roll and chowder, then back home sitting around a campfire watching deer in our backyard, all in the same afternoon. It’s the best of both worlds.

Being outdoors and in nature gives me a sense of belonging.  It’s something I need in my life and it allows me to reset and slow down. I’d like for Eloise to grow up having the same love for nature that her parents, grandparents, great grandparents, aunts and uncles do. My hope is that she looks back on her childhood with great memories of camping and hiking and being outdoors the way I do.

We are lucky to live in this beautiful state. What more could you want than the ocean, beaches, mountains, wildlife, rivers and lakes. It has a little bit of everything.

Favorites:
Maine Beer- Allagash White
Maine Trail- Cutler Preserve
Maine location- Allagash Wilderness Waterway
Maine Mountain- Deboullie Mountain

Eloise

My name is Eloise but my trail name is “Weezie.” I’ll be honest, I’m a little new to this outdoors stuff. Actually, I’m pretty new to everything because I was born on December 1, 2016! So, depending on when you’re reading this, who knows how old I actually am. Hopefully my parents are normal and don’t go around telling people I’m like 42 months old.

Attitude wise, I like things some days and then hate them the next. I came out with a full head of hair and started rolling, crawling, sitting and standing too early. I’m always on the move until the very last second when I fall finally asleep. I have a serious case of FOMO (fear of missing out). I’m pretty loud, so I’m guessing I have my dad to blame for that.

I’m excited to travel all over the place with my parents now, because I’m sure they will be so embarrassing in about 15 years. Well, maybe mom will still be cool. I hate my car seat, but when we get to wherever we are going, toss me in a carrier and I’m game for anything. Check back in every once in a while, because this is going to be fun!

Favorites:
Place to eat: Under mom’s shirt
Hobby: Bulldog watching
Maine location: Maine Medical Center (birthing unit)
Animal- Fox
Butt PasteBoudreaux’s

Braddock

My name is Braddock, but folks close to me call me all kinds of names…Brad, Snads, Goose, Sneakers… I’ll be 10 this summer; which is like 100 in Bulldog years. I want nothing more than to Netfilx and chill. I don’t like wet grass, cold temps and honestly I would probably go to the bathroom in a kitty litter box to avoid going outside. BUT that being said, put me in the wilderness and something happens to me. I instantly get 7 years younger and feel like White Fang. You’ll have to force me in the car, but I’ll thank you later.

Life was a real treat for my first 7 years. I was living the good life before the adoption of my crazy brother Baxter and the birth of pretty little Eloise. Now sometimes they feed me almost 5 minutes late and they even get upset when I eat pacifiers. I’m pretty much an old man at this point in my life, but I do love my family. I don’t care where I go, as long as I’m with on them.

Favorites:
Song: Little red corvette
Hobby: Spooning
Movie: Cinderella Man
Food: Vanilla soft serve on a plain cone
Maine location: Lavoie family camp (Allagash)

Baxter

My name is Baxter, but folks close to me usually just yell my name loudly. Everyone thinks I’ll be 5 this year, but no one really knows my true age because I was adopted. I don’t feel 5, because if there is one thing I’ve learned from those animal rescues down south, is that life is too short! So with that being said I try and get the most out of each day. I think I love absolutely everything, especially my brother Braddock. I would follow him to the ends of the earth. We are best friends, he just doesn’t know it yet.

Some would say I am high energy, but I make sure to get a solid 2-3 hours of sleep each night. In my free time, I play with my toys, pace the hallways in the middle of the night, hop up and down on the deck and sprint in circles around my yard for no reason. I also enjoy standing at the fence and barking at my neighbors, but only late at night when my parents have already taken off my bark collar.

Listen, it’s simple, I’m beyond jazzed about traveling the state with my family. There’s a rumor going around that I’ll have to miss some trips because of my behavior. I think its gossip because no one walks my parents better on a leash than me. Who wouldn’t want a dog version of Gronk around? Either way, I’m beyond excited for all wild adventures to come or whatever else that’s happening at this very moment.

Favorites:
Song: Happy (Pharrell)
Hobby: Finding a human to pet me
Person: Sadie Lyons (my dog walker)
Food: Joint supplement with a side of allergy pill
Maine location: My back yard (Portland)

 

Some of our favorite memories: